Films of the Week Vol. 4 aka Iron Man 3 reviewed

Iron Man 3

iron_man_3_new_poster (2)directed by Shane Black
written by Shane Black & Drew Pearce, comics by Stan Lee, Don Heck, Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby
starring Robert Downey Jr, Guy Pearce, Gwyneth Paltrow, Rebecca Hall, Don Cheadle & Ben Kingsley

So again I saw only one film during the week. But very thankfully it was very entertaining one. Sometime during the watching of the film I thought myself that I don’t get how this is so highly rated that it is 90 % Fresh in Rotten Tomatoes. But in the end I end up walking out of the theatre with a wide smile and I couldn’t stop doing it for a quite long time.

the-avengers-movie1Once again I’m not going to explain the plot. If you want to know more about Iron Man, there are parts one and two already. And there’s The Avengers which is, to me, the best of the whole Marvel bunch. And the best outing of the Iron Man too. And the best of 2012 too. And # 148 in IMDb top-250 list. And the best cast probably ever. And… Well, back to Iron Man 3.

Robert Downey Jr. is Tony Stark. He’s so effortless in the role. In my opinion he had better lines to deliver in The Avengers but in this one he has the emotional deepness in him. Don’t be fooled, it’s nothing like a brooding Batman (and don’t take me wrong, I love Nolan’s trilogy but it’s toned very differently than the Marvel world) but he is acting less playboyish and more like a real man. Gwyneth “I’m so perfect” Paltrow is good as Pepper Potts. As you can read, I’m not a fan of hers, but I have to admit, she does a nice job in Iron Man 3. Somebody in the blog world already said it and I have to agree, she definitely should come out of the kitchen and the lifestyle programs and do some acting again. Because she’s good at it. But the best of Iron Man cast are however the baddies. Guy Pearce shows his fantastically versatile repertoire as Aldrich Killian. And Ben Kingsley has the most interesting role for him for a long time. I absolutely loved him as Mandarin. I don’t want to talk about their roles more than that because the plot keeps twisting and zigzagging and the less you know, the more you enjoy.

A great character poster.

A great character poster.

Shane Black to me is much more suitable as an action flick director than Jon Favreau. I liked previous instalments of the series a lot as well but the action in the third part is spectacular. I was awed by the explosions and the amount of thrill. I tend to have problems with the 3D glasses, watching through them makes me drowsy and quite often I need to keep myself awake. This did NOT happen this time. Iron Man 3 is a solid gold popcorn entertainment. If you don’t expect anything more, you’ll like it. The summer has arrived with the help of Tony Stark.

As many of us know, Iron Man 3 had its opening in Europe and around the world before hitting the States the next Friday and here is how it went according to Box Office Mojo:

“Iron Man 3‘s $195.3 million overseas debut ranks ninth all-time, and second among Marvel movies behind Spider-Man 3 ($230.5 million). Its top territory was the U.K. with $21.5 million, followed by South Korea ($19.2 million), Australia ($18.4 million), Mexico ($16.1 million), France ($14.7 million), Brazil ($12.3 million) and Italy ($11.2 million). According to Disney, it also had the biggest opening weekend ever in the Asia Pacific and Latin America regions.

The movie still has openings in China, Russia and Germany to look forward to in the next week or two. While matching The Avengers‘s $888 million is probably out of reach, it is now guaranteed to wind up with at least $600 million by the end of its run. Add in what should be a very strong domestic performance as well, and Iron Man 3 will likely be the first 2013 movie to reach $1 billion worldwide.”

Rating: **** (out of *****)

2 thoughts on “Films of the Week Vol. 4 aka Iron Man 3 reviewed

Leave a Reply

