The Best of the Best – Actors

acting1Here we go. Yesterday I listed actresses, today it’s time for actors. And this list was much more harder to make. I began with 40+ actors and even though I managed to pull together my top ten, I have to mention so many names outside of it that it’s almost cheating. Top 20 is closer to the truth. And I again left out the actors of yesterday that I like, like James Stewart and Gregory Peck.

Just outside of my top ten remains a bunch of actors that I really appreciate. Some of them just didn’t fit into my ten of the best and some of them haven’t paid their dues yet. In ryanthe latter group I have for example Ryan Gosling. He’s very good but in my opinion he quite often repeats the same role even though that’s not true. He’s just the same in many of his films. Other one that is doing acting discreetly is Colin Firth. I admire him a lot too but I’m still waiting for some kind of a nutcase role from him. The one that has gotten better and better by age is George Clooney. He was fantastic in The Descendants and I can’t wait to see what he’s going to do next.

The others that I want to mention are Game of Throne hotties, Peter Dinklage and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau. I have to admit the latter has not exactly strike me as a great actor. Just because he’s hooooot. (Sorry about my unprofessionalism.) But Dinklage is great, he’s tough but vulnerable. Two just outside of my top-10 are Robert Downey Jr and Russell Crowe, they are my numbers 11 and 12. They could be easily in top-10 too, so I just wanted to mention them. They’re great and versatile. And hot. The men. The one to watch ezrais Ezra Miller. He is doing very solid work at the moment. If you don’t know his name, check Perks of Being a Wallflower and We Need to Talk About Kevin. Talking about diverse.

The last two that I adore are the funny man Jason Segel. He’s like perfect man and so funny. And the last but the most definitely not the least is my love-of-the-movie-life Jeremy Renner. He can’t do no wrong. But I do hope he would again do some other work than hot-heads. But I love him.

TOP 10

10)

johnnyJohnny Depp

I don’t like him at the moment. I don’t have any reason for that but he just annoys me these days. But I can’t deny his talent. He’s so versatile. And fearless. And he’s Jack Sparrow.

9)

bryanBryan Cranston

I haven’t watched a single episode of Breaking Bad but apparently he’s fabulous in it. I added him to my list because of his movie roles. He always disappears in his roles. The most of the time you don’t even realise he’s in the film. He’s just that good.

8)

heathHeath Ledger

What a horrible waste. I still miss Mr Ledger. He was so talented. I’ve never seen anyone to do more heart-wrenching role than his Ennis Del Mar in Brokeback Mountain. If you haven’t seen it, watch it. It might be the best film ever made (but is not as you can read later on). And Heath Ledger is the best thing in it.

7)

edwardEdward Norton

He does a bit uneven work but when his best, he’s extremely good. Just watch Fight Club, American History X or my favourite performance of his: Primal Fear and you’ll know what I mean.

6)

javier

Javier Bardem

Talking about diverse again. He could easily use his good looks and exotic origins but fortunately for us, he’s ready to go super-ugly (that wig in No Country for Old Men, anyone?) and act his butt off. Easily the best European actor to date.

5)

leoLeonardo DiCaprio

I think he’s a bit one-dimensional but then again, I’ve never seen any bad roles from him. He does have his mannerism but when you are one of the best actors of your generation, that’s ok. I hope he’ll get his Oscar the next year for Wolf of the Wall Street. He deserves it.

4)

joaquinJoaquin Phoenix

I’m not sure how well he’s able to act someone not addicted to something. But that one he does perfectly. He’s too weird for my taste but I can’t help but to applaud to him whenever I watch his acting. It’s so real. And scary.

3)

christianChristian Bale

Talking about scary; it’s a bit scary how far he’s willing to go for a role. Well, all in all, he’s a bit scary. But no one can’t deny his all-round talent. It’ll be interesting to see how he deals with the romance in Knight of the Cups, it’s been a while since he’s done some.

2) danielDaniel Day-Lewis

The last two mentioned gentlemen are the same calibre as is this gentleman. He just does it a tiny bit better. It’s unbelievable to watch how he just is his characters. He really deserves all the praise his gotten. And will get. Plus he’s sophisticated Brit, that’s a thing of beauty as itself.

1)

bradBrad Pitt

The most underrated actor of our time. He is the other half of the royalty of Hollywood and insanely good-looking, suave man, so of course he is. But since scene-stealing part of Thelma & Louise he’s done the most amazing and versatile work in the films. From serial killer to vampire to every womans dream in Legends of the Fall. And again from rookie detective to mad scientist to death. And Tyler Durden. The best character ever. In the best movie ever.

Any thoughts?

5 thoughts on “The Best of the Best – Actors

Comments are closed.