La Bella Roma

As a part of my 101 challenge as a number 15 I have “Edit all the pix you’re gonna save.” I have tons, well, at least hundreds of photos to edit on my laptop and memory cards and I really need to edit and publish them someday. Preferably sooner than later. I managed to get some work done the other day when I edited the last of the pix from Rome where I went over a year ago and here are the results.

colosseo1I have loved Italy as long as I can remember. The love affair probably started with spaghetti, continued with football (that’s soccer to you on the other side of Atlantic) (’86 World Cup to be exact) and has grown ever since. But I never visited there until March 2012. And I’m so glad to say, the everlasting city did not disappointed. It’s the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. And I will go back there. Enjoy the trip to Rome through my eyes (and camera lens).

hostelli

A view from our hostel window. Loved it, very italian. The hostel, called Maison De Julie was very clean and near to everything. And Davide, the owner, came to open the doors for us even though we arrived in the middle of night.

tunneli

The tunnel (which name I couldn’t find) to Trevi fountain.

I'm a fan of Dan Brown and especially his novels of religion, history, art and so on. Angels & Demons is my favourite of his books and if you've read it, you know it's quite interesting to visit many of the sights in Rome. This is the one of them: Fontana di.

I’m a fan of Dan Brown and especially his novels of religion, history, art and so on. Angels & Demons is my favourite of his books and if you’ve read it, you know it’s quite interesting to visit many of the sights in Rome. This is the one of them: Fontana di Trevi. Also the place I’ve seen the most tourist together. Ever. A loads.

A street view in the Vatican City (right in the heart of Rome).

A street view in the Vatican City (right in the heart of Rome).

Piazza de Spagna and Spanish Steps. John Keats lived and died in there.

Piazza de Spagna and Spanish Steps. John Keats lived and died in there.

popolo1

Piazza del Popolo pictured up above.

A pillar inside of church of Santa Maria del Popolo that is also one of the settings in Angels & Demons.

A pillar inside of church of Santa Maria del Popolo that is also one of the settings in Angels & Demons.

Castel Sant'Angelo, also one of the setting in A & D. Very important one.

Castel Sant’Angelo, also one of the settings in A & D. Very important one.

Piazza Venezia, a kind of centre of Rome and also way too huge and stravagante.

Piazza Venezia, a kind of centre of Rome and also way too huge and pretentious.

pantheon1

Pantheon. No explanations needed, I guess.

We also climped to the top of the Basilica di San Pietro in Vaticano aka St. Peter's Basilica. Here's the first warning.

We also climbed to the top of the Basilica di San Pietro in Vaticano aka St. Peter’s Basilica. Here’s the first warning.

portaat1

BUT I think they should have warned about this! So narrow that I almost got hit by claustrophobia. Never again!

pietari4

The view after taking the elevator.

pietari5

The view after taking the stairs.

Although the basilica is ridiculous (you have to see it to understand what I mean), it is conceived beautifully, the natural light is used unbelivably. Loved it.

Although the basilica is ridiculous (you have to see it to understand what I mean), it is conceived beautifully, the natural light is used unbelievably. Loved it.

Look at the floor how light hits it.

Look at the floor how light hits it.

Oh, we saw this guy too. By accident. I almost turned catholic, the atmosphere were fantastic.

Oh, we saw this guy too. By accident. I almost turned catholic, the atmosphere were fantastic.

Rome wasn't build in a day. - But I'm glad they build it.

Rome wasn’t build in a day. – But I’m glad they build it.

That’s all for now. I’m off to Prague. Arrivederci!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “La Bella Roma

Leave a Reply

