Films of the Week Vol. 6

I haven’t posted anything concerning love of my life, the movies, for a while, so let’s review the films I watched during the last week.

Demolition Man (1993)demolitionman

directed by Marco Brambilla
written by Peter M. Lenkov, Robert Reneau & Daniel Waters
starring Sylvester Stallone, Wesley Snipes & Sandra Bullock

I saw Demolition Man back then when it was in cinemas. Back then I also thought it was quite good. Fortunately I was 13, so I can forgive myself. It’s not good. And it’s really hard to understand Stallone if you don’t have subtitles. I recorded this from telly and for some reason the subtitles didn’t work properly so I had to watch this without them and man! that guy can’t speak palpably. Very annoying. Sandra Bullock is the best thing in this one. But I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone except maybe those guys who love those Expendables casting-kinda things.

Rating: ** (out of *****)

Julia-Roberts-20My Best Friend’s Wedding (1997)

directed by PJ Hogan
written by Ronald Bass
starring Julia Roberts, Cameron Diaz & Dermot Mulroney

First of all, I’ve never understood what’s hot in Dermot Mulroney? He seems really stuck-up and kind of slow. Not interesting at all. So why they put him in the male-lead in those romantic comedies? I don’t get it. Especially in My Best Friend’s Wedding because Roberts and Diaz are competing of his love? Really? Why? Gosh, I just noticed this film has been nominated to an Oscar! WHY??? I’m in a bit of a shock now. But anyway, this one is decent rom-com (as you probably know already, I’m a fan of that genre and watch really embarrassing movies if they’re rom-coms), it was even better than I remembered. Roberts is endearing and Diaz is funny. That’s about it but it’s enough.

Rating: **½ 

(I should explain myself because I gave this only half a star more than the previous one but there is my line of what’s bad and what’s not. Two stars equal bad but 2,5 is already on the better side.)

Letter’s to Juliet (2010)letterstojuliet

directed by Gary Winick
written by Jose Rivera & Tim Sullivan
starring Amanda Seyfried, Vanessa Redgrave, Christopher Egan & Gael Garcia Bernal

Letter’s to Juliet is one of my favourite rom-coms that has come out recently. I have a thing to Amanda Seyfried, Gael Garcia Bernal is always hot, Egan speaks deafeningly beautiful English, it’s about filling your dreams and it all happens in stunning Toscana. If you didn’t know, I love Italy. Ok, the film is not exactly anything new or even original but it has the taste of summer and look of love. Makes me smile.

Rating: ***

titanicTitanic (1997)

directed by James Cameron
written by James Cameron
starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, Billy Zane, Kathy Bates, Bill Paxton, Gloria Stuart & Frances Fisher

I’m the king of the world! That’s what Cameron said after receiving his Oscar for directing and I couldn’t agree more. Titanic was and is the love story of all love stories. And I remember how everyone talk about Titanic sinking with it back-then-huge budget. And the enormous success after the release. To me Titanic is the movie that got me once and for all hooked to the world of cinema. I simply love it. Yes, it’s a bit too much and the special effects are a bit out-dated but the story inside is never. And it gave us two of the best performers of today, Leo and Kate. To me Titanic is all about Roses journey to freedom and one of my favourite quotes is from the film:

He saved me… in every way that a person can be saved.

titanicliberty

Rating: *****

Assassination of a High School President (2008)

directed by Brett Simon
written by Kevin Jakubowski & Tim Calpin
starring Mischa Barton, Bruce Willis & Reece Thompson

This little gem I had in my digibox and on a lazy Saturday I decided to watch it and I’m very glad I did. First of all it introduced me to Luke Grimeslukegrimes, a very nice eye-candy who seems to be able to act. Secondly it has charming air to it, it’s a bit weird but at the same time it’s a perfect example of how to construct your movie. Assassination of a High School President has the script made by the text-book. It’s an example how to hide your hints of what’s coming into the film. Everyone who has studied at least a bit of film analyzing (or novels) sees those clues and knows easily what’s gonna happen in the end. But it was kind of fun. Characters in this little movie are interesting enough and the soundtrack is awesome, I probably need to find it somewhere. I recommend this one if you’re into a bit weird or high school movies. I like both.

Rating: ***½

Up in the Air (2009)

directed by Jason Reitman
written by Walter Kirn, Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner
starring George Clooney, Vera Farmiga & Anna Kendrick

George-Clooney-in-Up-in-the-AirFor some reason I didn’t manage to watch Up in the Air when it was Oscar nominee, so I kind of forgot it. But thankfully recorded it when it was on telly. Because it happens to be very, very good movie. All of the actors are doing top-notch work and it looks like George Clooney is becoming one of my favourite actors. In my opinion he should have won the Oscar for The Descendants because that was his best work to date but in Up in the Air he’s also in a fine form. So are Farmiga and especially Kendrick too. She’s really growing to be quite a talent. That means, there was something good in Twilight saga after all. The script in this one is ridiculously well written. It’s real, funny and heart-breaking at the same time. I especially liked the one scene where Kendricks character is talking with Farmigas about men and expectations women have towards them. There really is a difference between a 23-year-old and 43-year-old. Director Jason Reitman has emerged as a real player in Hollywood with this, Juno and Young Adult. Next up is Labor Day with Kate Winslet, Tobey Maguire and Josh Brolin. Can’t be bad.

Rating: ****½

Tomorrow I’m off to Sodankylä and Midnight Sun Film Festival. Let’s see what I get to see there. A lot of Finnish films I guess and probably also some gems from Europe mostly. I’d at least like to see Sightseers, Blancanieves, Fill the Void, Dupa Dealuri, Room 237, Laulu Koti-ikävästä, The Purge and 21 Tapaa Pilata Avioliitto but then again, I’m volunteering, so I’ll see what I’m able to see.

4 thoughts on “Films of the Week Vol. 6

Leave a Reply

