Copenheaven

linna1I’ve been fortunate enough to been able to travel the two best cities in Europe in a very short time. The first to Prague and then to Copenhagen. The cities are very different, like a night and a day but both are as lovely as a place (that’s not New York) can be. Copenhagen, the day, was so welcoming and sunny. The weather wasn’t the sunniest the whole time we stayed in the city but people were. They tend to smile a lot. A rarity to a Finnish girl like me. And the food! Oh, the food! Copenhagen IS the food capital of Europe! I don’t think I ate anything mediocre. Well, the kebab in Tivoli when we were in a hurry but otherwise the food was every time a top-notch. Amazing! And I love food as you might know from my previous posts. So here’s a round around Copenhagen via my cam and me. Enjoy!

nyhavn2

The first day we arrived really early so we needed to spend time somewhere before the checking time. We decided to take a canal tour with DFDS and that was the best decision ever. We got to know a lot to Copenhagen by sitting still while seeing the city from the sea hosted by the very entertaining Nico, the guide of our boat.

The tour started from Nyhavn that use to be the redlight district of Copenhagen.

The tour started from Nyhavn that used to be the red-light district of Copenhagen.

 

 

The Little Mermaid, the 100-year-old lady by the sea and a few tourists...

Den Lille Havfrue aka The Little Mermaid, the 100-year-old lady by the sea and a few tourists…

... We being two of them.

… We being two of them.

kanava1

The cutest thing to live in.

The cutest thing to live in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The canals are not the widest ones.

The canals are not the widest ones.

Amalienhaven and Frederik's Church that's right next to Amalienborg that is a home to Danish Royalty.

Amalienhaven and Frederik’s Church that’s right next to Amalienborg that is a home to Danish Royalty. You can see the Danish flag, Dannebrog, on the right side. It means the Crown Prince was home at the time. 

After the tour we got the room from the hostel, Copenhagen Downtown, where the location was perfect but because I was totally spoiled by my hostel in Prague, I found a bit too expensive compared to what it had to offer.

After the tour we got the room from the hostel, Copenhagen Downtown, where the location was perfect but because I was totally spoiled by my hostel in Prague, I found it a bit too expensive compared to what it had to offer. But I still might go again, not just book the private room.

food1

The next day we slept in after drowning few beers at the bar called Drop Inn that was right next to our hostel and had a very very very good brunch at RizRaz to start a day.

 

After the brunch we took a long walking tour around the city on the hottest day of the year.

After the brunch we took a long walking tour around the city on the hottest day of the year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cock's and Cows had the best sign I've seen in a while:

Cock’s and Cows had the best sign I’ve seen in a while:

kyltti1

 

 

 

 

Some guy sitting on front of the Royal Danish Theatre

Some guy sitting on the front of the Royal Danish Theatre.

 

 

 

 

 

 

King Frederick V at Amalienborg Square. The Prince is still home.

King Frederick V at Amalienborg Square. The Prince is still home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, I have a thing for statues but this one really is one of my favourites so far.

Ok, I have a thing for statues but this one really is one of my favourites so far.

Kastellet, the fortress in the middle of the city.

Kastellet, the fortress in the middle of the city.

The windmill at the area.

The windmill at the area.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A view from the top of Kastellet.

A view from the top of Kastellet.

 

kirkko2

The laid back attitude of the Danes.

The laid back attitude of the Danes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

ruusut1

 

 

 

 

 

leijonat

They guard the crown jewels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The man himself, Hans Christian Andersen, the storyteller of our childhood.

The man himself, Hans Christian Andersen, the storyteller of our childhood.

In Copenhagen, you need to rent bikes at least for a day. And we did. The city is just a right size to ride around and get to know to the parts that are not right in the centre.

In Copenhagen, you need to rent bikes at least for a day. And we did. The city is just a right size to ride around and get to know to the parts that are not right in the centre.

The first we went to the Church of Our Saviour to climb to the top.

The first we went to the Church of Our Saviour to climb to the top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have absolutely no idea why I keep putting myself to the places that I don't want to be. And it's always about churches like in Rome too.

I have absolutely no idea why I keep putting myself to the places that I don’t want to be. And it’s always about churches like in Rome too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Though the view was great again!

Though the view was great again!

köpis3

The next up was Christiania, the freetown.

The next up was Christiania, the free town.

christiania4

The entry is at the Princess Street with the mural that invites you in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

For apparent reasons I don't have many pics of Christiania. This is the one of the rare ones.

For apparent reasons I don’t have many pics of Christiania. This is the one of the rare ones.

 

 

 

Back to Copenhagen.

Back to Copenhagen.

I really don't know what they were doing?!

I really don’t know what they were doing?!

 

They were racing. With the toilets.

They were racing. With the toilets.

In Copenhagen there were A LOT of fathers and children to be seen together.

In Copenhagen there were A LOT of fathers and children to be seen together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kitty

Kitty

 

 

 

 

 

 

That's a wall.

Cocks on the wall.

 

 

köpis5

 

 

 

joutsenet2

 

 

 

 

We went to a picnic to H.C. Andersen grave at Assistens Cemetery. It's normal, they said.

We went to a picnic to H.C. Andersen grave at Assistens Cemetery. It’s normal, they said.

Some piggy (me) having a bun.

Some piggy (me) having a bun.

Some grave, I liked how the sun was shining.

Some grave, I liked how the sun was shining.

To Tivoli!

To Tivoli!

30stm3

Where we, by very pleasant surprise, ended up seeing the band called 30 Seconds to Mars.

tivoli4

 

 

 

 

 

30stm1

30stm2

Friend of mine, whom I was travelling with, had her birthday that day, so it was kinda perfect ending for the perfect day. And Jared Leto is very much hot. Still.

tivoli1

Hope you enjoyed my trip to Copenhagen. I surely did and will go back again. To the next time! Good night.

P.S. Talking about the food: the best dessert I've ever eaten. The dark bread, the softest gorgonzola and plum jelly. AMAZING. I cried.

P.S. Talking about the food: the best dessert I’ve ever eaten. The dark bread, the softest gorgonzola and plum jelly. AMAZING. I cried.

5 thoughts on “Copenheaven

Leave a Reply

