The Oscar Predictions – Acting (Updated)

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.I’m so late with my predictions. They are actually accouncing the nominations on Jan 16th! I need to hurry with these. So here we go (if you’re interested you can compare these to the ones I made earlier). These are not the final ones but almost… Ladies first:

 

Best Actress in Leading Role

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Meryl Streep – August: Osage County
Judi Dench – Philomena
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Emma Thompson – Saving Mr. Banks
Amy Adams – American Hustle
Adèle Exarchopoulos – Blue Is the Warmest Color

cateThey are not in particular order this time and I can’t make up my mind which ones are actually going to be the nominees and which are left outside. But when I make up my mind, you’ll find it at my new page of Oscar Predictions 2014. What is 99,9 % certain is that  Cate Blanchett will win. And Sandra Bullock and Emma Thompson are getting nominated. After that I don’t know. I hope that they would nominate Judi Dench and Adèle Exarchopoulos but I doubt they will left Meryl Streep out. And Amy Adams has had a little bit of buzz in a very well-received film… The ballots are due today, so this is the last day that Academy members can make up their minds. The Bafta nominations were out today and they did nominate Adams. So there is a time for late-bird members to take notice on that.

Best Actor in Leading Role

Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Oscar Isaac – Inside Llewyn Davis
Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford – All Is Lost
Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

ejioforAgain, they are in no particular order. Ejiofor is in the lead at the moment and probable winner but Matthew McConaughey is the other option. I haven’t seen either of their films, so I don’t have opinion yet. But I’ve like McConaughey as long as I can remember. They are both locks and so is Bruce Dern. And Tom Hanks, I guess. But then… Robert Redford seemed a lock before but his buzz is fading and on the other hand, Oscar Isaac’s is gaining. But I still doubt his chances. And then we have two very high-profile players, Leonardo DiCaprio and Christian Bale. The first is so overdue it’s a shame and he is playing a real life figure in Martin Scorsese film. The Wolf of Wall Street has gotten some bad publicity due to its content but hey, all publicity is good publicity or what? And then again, Bale has gotten great reviews but American Hustle is ensemble piece and I think Jennifer Lawrence will be only one nominated for the film. But you never know. But right now I’d say DiCaprio is taking the final slot.

Best Actress in Supporting Role

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
June Squibb – Nebraska
Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????Again, no order. Lupita Nyong’o and Jennifer Lawrence are locks, the first one being the favourite for the win. And I think June Squibb is too. But then there’s three contenders and two slots left. Winfrey and Roberts got nominations from Screen Actors Guild and Bafta, Hawkins from the latter. Roberts and Hawkins got nominated by Hollywood Foreign Press aka Golden Globes. Winfrey and Roberts are huge names but both of their films are likely to gain only one or two nominations per film.  Hawkins is very good in Blue Jasmine and Cate Blanchett will win for it, so she might get sucked in within Blanchett’s buzz. So, I honestly can’t decide my mind. I’d like to leave Oprah out but is that too much to hope?

Best Actor in Supporting Role

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
James Gandolfini – Enough Said
Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
Daniel Bruhl – Rush
Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

letoJared Leto is number one on this list. Though, he’s not 100% sure thing for win but very close to that. Fassbender is a lock. And to me is Barkhad Abdi too, I thought he was even more remembrable than Hanks in Captain Phillips. And again we have three contenders, two slots. I would probably leave out James Gandolfini, but you just can’t do that when the nomination would be posthumous and he got nominated by Screen Actors Guild that used to be good precursor for the Oscars. But Bradley Cooper has gotten a lot of hype lately and he’s a Hollywood darling. And then again, Brühl was nominated by SAG, Golden Globes and Bafta and to me he was early favourite. I really liked Rush (my review). So, I still would leave Galdolfini out. Probably.

Who are your favourites? Or the ones that will eventually get the nods?

3 thoughts on “The Oscar Predictions – Acting (Updated)

    • They probably will be if there isn’t any big surprises. 🙂 But you never know. And I think it’s easier to say that who are going to win than that who are going to get nominations.

Leave a Reply

