The Oscar Predictions 2014 – Visuals

Four days to go! Wohoo!The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

Best Cinematography

12 Years a Slave
Captain Phillips
Prisoners
Inside Llewyn Davis
Gravity
Nebraska

gravityI’ll continue the same way that I did in the last post, so these are not in particular order. Gravity will win like Life of Pi did last year. It is very beautiful looking film. To me Prisoners is again the best. And by “again” I mean that Roger Deakins is the best cinematographer alive. Since there’s only one odd one, I think Nebraska has to be without the nomination. I’m not particularly excited about the cinematography of Captain Phillips because I’m not a fan os shaky camerawork but of course it makes it all feel more real or what do you think?

Best Editing

American Hustle
Gravity
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street
Captain Phillips

Gravity 1As you can see there’s only five contenders left in this category. I wanted to Rush to get a nomination but because American Cinema Editors did not include it in their selections I guess I’d better leave it out. Though I got to admit, I doubt myself. The film had amazing editing. Loved it! There’s a legend that the final Best Picture winner is nominated in this category every year and I believe it’ll be true this year too. My bet is Gravity will win this one but 12 Years a Slave will win the Best Picture. Though I wouldn’t count out any of the nominees for the win. The Best Picture winner should be one of the first three ones.

Best Production Design

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
The Great Gatsby
Gravity
12 Years a Slave
American Hustle

gatsbyJust a minute ago I still had Oz The Great and Powerful in my list but I decided to leave it out. I need to make the decision soon anyway, why not now? I can’t make up my mind when it comes to the winner but then again, I don’t have to yet. The Hobbit second and Saving Mr. Banks it’s not going to be and I doubt Gravity is the one either but it still leaves me with the two proper contenders. Productions design (previously Art Directing) has often gone to so called fantasy piece, the one that doesn’t look anything like in the real life but just last year the Academy awarded Lincoln. Baz Luhrmann’s films have been nominated before in this category and The Great Gatsby will be too but will the Academy go with the lustrous look this year or with the one based on reality? I don’t know.

Best Costume Design

Saving Mr. Banks
The Great Gatsby
The Invisible Woman
12 Years a Slave
American Hustle
Her

12-Years-a-Slave (1)Many have Oz the Great and Powerful this list too. I’m again leaving it out but then again I haven’t finalized my predictions yet. The Great Gatsby and 12 Years a Slave are locks for me. The Invisible Woman didn’t get nominated by Costume Designers Guild but there has always been one lavish period piece before. Maybe 12 Years a Slave is enough to fill that position but for some reason I think it’s not enough… We’ll see. For now, I’ll go with these.

Best Hair & Make-up

American Hustle
Dallas Buyers Club
The Great Gatsby
Hansel & Gretel the Witch Hunters
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Jackass Presents: the Bad Grandpa
The Lone Ranger

americanhustlehairAs you, who are familiar with the Academy short-list, can see there are all the movies still in the race for this category mentioned above. The thing with this category is that they quite often end up nominating really bad films. I don’t know much about hair styling or doing the make-up for movies, so I got to go with my hunch. At the moment I’m predicting American Hustle (to win), Dallas Buyers Club and The Great Gatsby but I really don’t know. I like the make-up in The Hunger Games: Catching Fire but it might be too much. I just hope that Jackass won’t get nominated.

Best Visual Effects

Gravity
Elysium
Pacific Rim
The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
Oblivion
Star Trek into Darkness

gravity2These again are not in particular order. Well, there’s no doubt which one will win. Gravity for sure. But the nominations are a bit more complicated. The Desolation of Smaug has to get the nomination, only because of Smaug itself, that thing is a beauty! Then I assume Iron Man 3 will be in the running as well as Pacific Rim. About the last place I’m not sure. At the moment I have Star Trek Into Darkness there.

Do you disagree with my choices? Or agree? Keep up with the ones that I’ve already decided at the Oscar Predictions page and the latest updates at Gold Derby. And don’t forget, Golden Globes tonight!

2 thoughts on “The Oscar Predictions 2014 – Visuals

  1. my guesses would be: cinematography, Gravity; best editing, Gravity; best production design, Gatsby; best costume design, possibly Gatsby but i’ll pick Saving Mr. Banks for variety; hair & makeup, Dallas Buyers Club; visual effects, The Hobbit. Smaug is beautiful, you are right! And can you tell I didn’t like American Hustle? I hope it doesn’t win anything, that movie is a mess.

    • I haven’t seen American Hustle, so sure you can say that! 😀 Though I’ve always liked Russell’s films and I think I will like this one too. Unfortunately the premiere of the film in Finland is after the Oscars but hopefully they’ll have some advance screenings or something.

      Good predictions. Only thing I doubt a lot is that The Hobbit would take Visual Effects, it just can’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

