Dallas Buyers Club Review

Dallas_Buyers_Club_posterDallas Buyers Club

Directed by Jean-Marc Vallée
Written by Craig Borten & Melissa Wallack
Starring Matthew McConaughey, Jared Leto & Jennifer Garner

Yesterday I finally saw six-time Oscar nominee, Dallas Buyers Club. I’ve had hard time deciding who will win the Best Actor in a Leading Role and seeing DBC didn’t make it any easier. McConaughey is very good in the leading role as Ron Woodroof, he could easily beat the competition to win the golden boy on Sunday. But Jared Leto should win. He is heartbreaking in the Supporting Role as Rayon. Truly amazing. His final scenes in the film are remarkably vulnerable. I absolutely loved his flawed character. And I hope he will win the Oscar. He deserves it. All of the other actors are good too but are outshined by Leto.

I’m so glad they managed to do this film. And I think everyone should see it (I’ve said that quite often lately but that just shows how good the films of this award season actually are). It is a story of people willing to live even when the whole world around them turn on them. I’m an admirer of not giving up and this film is all about it. And about humanity against bureaucracy and greedy people. There have been so many films that I’ve seen lately that makes you think and this is definitely one of them. It makes good to your soul to see people who are ready to take a stance for others even if it starts as a selfish act.

beautiful-jared-leto

There are flaws in Dallas Buyers Club like the sound mixing (it is amazing how easily we can hear even the whispers in the noisy places) and in general I hate this ugly look that the whole film has. To me it’s not natural but maybe it really is that way. I don’t know. My own world has always had more colours in it. But those are just technicalities that can’t hide the huge heart of this film. Again, I’m so glad they made this and that it has gotten the recognition. It’s worth of every mention it gets.

Rating: ****½ (out of 5)

10 thoughts on “Dallas Buyers Club Review

Leave a Reply

