True Detective review

truedetectiveTrue Detective (2014)

Created and written by Nic Pizzolatto
Directed by Cary Fugunaka
Starring Matthew McConaughey & Woody Harrelson

It is unbelievable how HBO is mastering itself over and over again. They already gave us Sex & the City, The Sopranos, Mad Men, Boardwalk Empire and of course, Game of Thrones. And countless miniseries. And now True Detective. If I’d be working for that firm, I couldn’t probably stop telling people where I work. I would be so proud. They know how to choose what to produce.

The most of the praise goes to scriptwriter Nic Pizzolatto. Throughout the series the images in front of me kept starting to form a page of a book in my mind. That has never happened before. I imagined a television series to become a novel. And that is the highest praise I can give to screenplay. No matter how much I love films and television, the real art, for me, is to write the way that you move something deep inside of people. Inspire them. And to me there are only that many authors who manage to do that. And to write that way for television, it’s a rare gift. Nic Pizzolatto knows how to do that. (Unfortunately I just read this piece of plagiarism, hopefully it’s not true.)

truedetectiveassTrue Detective is eight time Emmy nominee. Deservedly so. It’s nominated for directing, writing, acting and casting. All of those are top notch. It should be nominated for editing, set decorating, wardrobe etc. Everything. It is HBO quality and some. I appreciate the fact that the director takes his time and gives a lot of time to scenes to set. The atmosphere and people in the story are more important than what happens. But everything that happens, matters. The series should be nominated for its music too. At least it is for the main title design which, again, is classic HBO and T Bone Burnett, too:

I already have acclaimed the writer but without these talented actors, his words would have been lost. Harrelson is again so good; he makes his every man, Marty Hart, very alive. His reactions are so familiar, it doesn’t need words to understand his mind. He is every one of us. And worth of every praise he gets. BUT the real “thing” here, the true detective, is Matthew McConaughey’s Rust Cohle. McConaughey was great in Dallas Buyers Club and deserved his Oscar but in this… I can’t describe it. You have to see it. All these words that are written to him, he truly makes them alive. There are a lot of monologues in HBO series but none like these. And none of them are acted so well. Here is a scene that tells a lot how Rust is and gives nothing away. But I still hope you all watch this series. It makes you search your soul.

2 thoughts on “True Detective review

Leave a Reply

