Interstellar Review

I’m back. With a new layout and hopefully with a new courage to go on with my plan. And I saw Interstellar yesterday. Thankfully. Finally. I loved it.

interstellarINTERSTELLAR (2014)

directed by Christopher Nolan
written by Jonathan & Christopher Nolan
starring Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain & Michael Caine

First of all, Interstellar is a real sci-fi film. Unbelievable one. I was so ready to be disappointed because the film hadn’t quite lived up to all the hype and it didn’t do so spectacular work at the box-office that it should’ve had. And it’s Rotten Tomatoes score is “only” 74%. But thank god I did not miss it at big screen. It is one of the best films I’ve ever seen. After 15 minutes of its end, I was actually shaking. Amazing movie.

I don’t want to spoil anything because that is the best way to see the film. Not knowing a lot. The beginning of the film is already infectious if you don’t know what happens. Because they actually don’t tell you what has happened. Very annoying and so good. I don’t really know what I should write about it. It’s huge. And it needs to be seen on the biggest possible screen. With a good sound system. Some might say the music and sounds are too loud but I think it’s the point. They suck you in. In a good way. Mackenzie-Foy-beautiful

Ok, the cast. Well, there’s McConaughey, Jessica Chastain, Anne Hathaway, Michael Caine, Casey Affleck, Matt Damon, Topher Grace, Wes Bentley and so on… So what can you expect except excellence? Especially in the hands of C. Nolan? And there’s also Mackenzie Foy playing Murph (the daughter of McConaughey’s character) and she happens to be outstanding. Check her out. She has already held her own in the last couple of episodes of Twilight saga (well, not that hard thing to do…) and also The Conjuring. I predict a bright future for her.

What else? Well, obviously, already mentioned sounds. They rock your boat. Or at least your seat. Literally. Huge. Music is quite overwhelming but then again, it’s Zimmer in all his glory. I know a lot of people who think that he’s over-the-top but to me, he’s the best (I still need to do The Best of the Best of Composers). Here again.

Visuals are, as you might guess, stunning. Of course. I absolutely adored the shots from the space. They were so relaxing. But the most important part for me was the emotional effect. It was tremendous. Like I said, I was shaking afterwards and if I remember correctly, that has happened to me three times before (Matrix, Fight Club and Drive). It was such a rollercoaster. And I love rollercoasters.

I know there are a lot of complaints around internet but I don’t want to think about if this could happen or if there are plot holes, if the dialogue is childish or if the characters  are making non-sensical choices. I don’t care. I had one of the best experiences in my life in cinema and I will remember that for a long long time. And well, Interstellar is at #11 at IMDb’s top-250, so I guess, I’m not alone.

interstellar_space

Stars: ***** (out of 5)

5 thoughts on “Interstellar Review

    • Ah hah, I was at some point laughing to myself when I felt Iike I needed to stretch my brains to get it but enjoyed it anyhow. And yeah, I know there are flaws but the experience made up for it.

Leave a Reply

