The Oscars 2015 – predictions updated

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

Finally I had time to go through all the categories except live action short as there isn’t yet short list and it is quite an achievement to go on without it. HERE you can find my new page where I will be keeping my up to date predictions:

The Oscars 2015

 

As the awards season has finally officially started with New York Film Critics Circle announcing its winners, let’s take a tiny look at my at the moment predictions.

The Best Picture for me has now 10 nominees but I have my doubts if there is going to be that many. Boyhood, Birdman, The Imitation Game and The Theory of Everything are all locks. The last one being the one that I’m actually waiting for the most because I adore this trailer of its:

The other possible nominees are Whiplash and Selma that I think are quite strong contenders. And the rest are Unbroken, that hasn’t gotten that solid reviews (currently it’s rotten at Rotten Tomatoes which is not a good sign) but I need to give it a little bit more time to see how it will change, then Gone Girl which was again solid performance from always talented Mr. Fincher and his crew, Into the Woods that has been seen by the press in LA but no reviews published yet but I liked the trailer a lot and I have high hopes for it. And the last but not least, Interstellar that I doubt will get the best pic nom. I have no idea why people didn’t like it that much, I absolutely did as you can read from my review. The ones bubbling under but still have possibility are Foxcatcher, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Mr Turner and Love Is Strange that is getting some boost from independent awards. I guess there is a long shots for Inherent Vice and American Sniper but I really doubt it.

julianne-moore-hotWhen it comes to lead role acting categories, it looks like Eddie Redmayne from The Theory of Everything and Julianne Moore from Still Alice are in the lead but I wouldn’t say it’s done deals yet. I don’t really get all the love that Moore is getting because I find her a bit annoying (in everything she does) but I guess she is due. Main ladies are quite much locks already as it seems that only the last slot is slightly open. Pike, Jones and Witherspoon are there but the fifth slot could be someone else’s too. I’m betting on Amy, as she’s due also already but the nominee also can be Marion Cotillard (two films competing; The Immigrant and Two Days, One Night), Hilary Swank for The Homesman or Emily Blunt for Into the Woods but apparently her screen time is quite small.

Redmayne portraits Stephen Hawkings and has gotten only raves for his role. But then again, Michael Keaton of Birdman just won Gotham Award for acting. Cumberbatch and David Oyelowo should both be locks too but there are other possibilities too. Based on NYFCC and Cannes pick of Timothy Spall, I’m at the moment leaving Steve Carrell (Foxcatcher) out of the competition but that is just a hunch and I’m willing to change that if the precursor awards show their love for him. Plus I haven’t seen any of the male leads performances yet, so I don’t have opinions either. Possible spoilers include Jake Gyllenhaal of Nightcrawler and Oscar Isaacs of A Most Violent Year.

Supporting. Those are Patricia Arquette’s and J.K. Simmons’ to lose. They are the front-runners. Arquette will compete against Emma Stone (Birdman), Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game) and Meryl Streep (Into the Woods) plus one more that could be either Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year), Laura Dern (Wild) or Carmen Ejogo (Selma). Simmons is racing with Norton, Hawke, Ruffalo (see my full predictions if you are not aware which films are those roles from) and again one wild card that could be: Tom Wilkinson (Selma), Robert Duvall (The Judge), Miyavi (Unbroken) or Channing Tatum (Foxcatcher).600full-richard-linklater

The directing gong should go to Richard Linklater. I don’t see any other option. He shot Boyhood for 12 years. That is just insane. Nominations for Alejandro González Iñárritu,  Ava DuVernay and Morten Tyldum. And according to me the last place is either for Angelina Jolie (Unbroken) or David Fincher (Gone Girl) and because of the bad reviews of the former one, I choose the latter. I guess, I would choose him anyway. I think Damien Chazelle, the helmer of Whiplash also has a change.

In writing categories, Boyhood should have the advantage again. But original screenplay is quite competitive again and apart from those that I’m predicting at the moment (Selma, Birdman, Boyhood, Whiplash, The Grand Budapest Hotel) there are other strong candidates like Nightcrawler, Foxcatcher, Mr Turner, Wild Tales, A Most Violent Year, Love Is Strange and The Lego Movie. Adapting one is not that competitive but there are some good choices outside the ones that I picked (The Imitation Game, The Theory of Everything, Unbroken, Gone Girl, Wild) like Inherent Vice, American Sniper and Still Alice.

I will go through other categories when we get nearer to the actual nominations announcements. But meanwhile I will be updating the page and will, for sure, write reviews of those contenders that I haven’t seen yet. And I should probably write one that has Boyhood and Gone Girl reviewed. I gave both 4,5 stars out of 5. They’re great but not spectacular like Interstellar.

One thought on “The Oscars 2015 – predictions updated

Leave a Reply

