The Day After the Oscars

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

Ok, let’s take a look at some of the categories that I predicted incorrectly or where the gongs went where I did not want them to go. Or something. Let’s just take a look.

By far the biggest disappointed for me was Boyhood losing to Birdman. Birdman was a good film but I didn’t like it that much and I think Linklater did something special there. He should have also won the director award. So sorry that he didn’t. I did predict that Iñarritu’s win in directing, so only half wrong. I also hoped that Whiplash would’ve gotten the best picture but I knew it would not. But it’s still the best film of the year and one of the best ones ever.

whiplash2

I was happy with all the acting categories, so no complaints there. I also got all of them correct. I was first disappointed that Whiplash didn’t get the gong for the adapted screenplay but Graham Moore who won for The Imitation Game was so touching and worthy in the end that it’s ok. Birdman got the other and that was expected. As was its win for cinematography. Well deserved.

I predicted The Grand Budapest Hotel for the costume design and the production design and I also wanted it to win, pretty, pastel picture as it is. The makeup and hairstyling I predicted to go to Foxcatcher but there I was wrong as The Grand Budapest Hotel took that too. It’s ok. I also got the best original score correct by predicting it to go to The Grand Budapest Hotel.

grandbudapest

The best surprise of the evening was Whiplash winning for editing. So glad of that! I predicted Boyhood but damn, I’m glad I was wrong!

The best song went to Selma, John Legend’s and Common’s Glory as I predicted and after that touching performance thought it went to the best choice of them even though I liked Everything Is Awesome before the gala.

I’m sad that I was right in predicting American Sniper to win the sound editing, that film sucks. And very glad that Whiplash won for the sound mixing, it definitely deserved that. And every other award it has won. Visual effects went to Interstellar, no surprise there.

The animated feature went to Big Hero 6 that I haven’t seen but I thought it would go to How to Train Your Dragon 2. Citizenfour got the award for the best documentary like probably everybody predicted and the foreign language film went to Ida, as anticipated. I also had all the short films correct, they went to Feast (animated), Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1 (documentary) and The Phone Call (live action).

neilpatrickharrisSome other thoughts concerning the Oscars. I liked Neil Patrick Harris as a host but Ellen DeGeneres last year was better. The performances were boring and good. On the latter side were Glory, Lady Gaga with her Sound of Music tribute (and the crowning of that was very genuine Julie Andrews thanking her) and of course Everything is Awesome. With Will Arnett. The best speeches were given by J.K. Simmons who urged everyone to call their parents, Common who talked about the inequality that is still present in the world of today and Graham Moore who told “I tried to commit suicide at 16 and now I’m standing here,I would like for this moment to be for that kid out there who feels like she doesn’t fit in anywhere. You do. Stay weird. Stay different, and then when it’s your turn and you are standing on this stage please pass the same message along.”

What did you think this years Oscars? Good, bad? Did the right films win?

2 thoughts on “The Day After the Oscars

Leave a Reply

