Christmas Films #1: Bad Santa & The Ref

Bad_Santa_filmBAD SANTA (2003)

Directed by Terry Zwigoff

Written by Glenn Figarra & John Requa

Starring Billy Bob Thornton, Tony Cox, Brett Kelly, Lauren Graham & Bernie Mac

Synopsis (IMDb): “A miserable conman and his partner pose as Santa and his Little Helper to rob department stores on Christmas Eve. But they run into problems when the conman befriends a troubled kid, and the security boss discovers the plot.”

Netflix estimates with the starring how much you will like a film. It gave me 2 out 5 stars for Bad Santa. Not bad; I ended up giving it 2. I would probably have given just one but the ending was surprisingly moving. Otherwise; not my cup of tea. I don’t like boozing in the films, I hate when people are playing victims of their own lives. I just hate it. To me alcoholism is not an illness, it’s a choice. And then addiction but not an illness and I detest people who ruin their own and especially lives around them because of drinking. And that is how the main character in Bad Santa is. Disgusting. Plus I’ve never really liked Billy Bob Thornton. He’s ok actor, I’m not saying that but there’s just something repulsive about him. And a black dwarf. Ha ha. Ha. Not funny. And I don’t really like Bernie Mac either and besides he’s role in Bad Santa is totally unnecessary. I love Lauren Graham as I love Gilmore Girls which is one of my all-time favourite series and I’m actually watching it again right now. And here she’s a stupid slut. How cute is that? Ok. I think you got the point. Not my cup of tea in general but they managed to pull some strings in the end because I was touched, I even had little tears in my eyes at some point. Well done. But in general, I will stick to believing those estimates of Netflix, they’re rarely wrong.

disgusting_santa

Rating: ** (out of 5)

theref_movieTHE REF (1994)

Directed by Ted Demme

Written by Marie Weiss & Richard LaGravenese

Starring Kevin Spacey, Judy Davis & Denis Leary

Synopsis (IMDb): “A cat burglar is forced to take a bickering, dysfunctional family hostage on Christmas Eve.”

I’d never even heard of The Ref before checking “the best of lists” of Christmas related films. Not a bad one. Especially after bad Bad Santa.

The Ref is a small film that has nice dialogue and quite capable pair in the lead roles (Spacey and Davis). Leary is basically the main character but these two totally overrides him. I don’t really know what else to write about it? The story is simple, everything that happens, happens between the family mentioned in synopsis. And mainly it happens in talk not so much in action. The Ref is clever little film that entertains you enough but there’s nothing spectacular. It’s ok. And it’s not too long and basically there’s nothing wrong, no unnecessary scenes or stupid music or anything like that. It’s funny and it’s enough. Although, I hate that dark look of 90’s. It is just ugly. And the clothes and hair. Ugh.

cocksucker_theref.gif

Rating: *** (out of 5)

3 thoughts on “Christmas Films #1: Bad Santa & The Ref

Leave a Reply

