The Hateful Eight Review

the-hateful-eight_poster
The Hateful Eight (2015)

Directed by Quentin Tarantino

Written by Quentin Tarantino

Starring Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Walton Goggins, Demián Bichir, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen & Bruce Dern

Let’s first establish that I’m not a fan of Tarantino. I do admire him; self-made director with distinguished style who always writes his stuff. You have to admire the guy. Plus I kind of like that he refuses to grow old but at the same time I hope he would grow a little bit. He’s starting to repeat himself. But yeah, Inglourious Basterds is the only Tarantino film that I can say I really like. It is hysterical. But for example, Pulp Fiction to me is way overrated.

the-hateful-8

The Hateful Eight. Yeah, more hateful than eight. The first of all, it’s really long. Like really. Twice I needed to struggle to not to fall asleep. Then again it’s mainly talk, talk, talk. Yes, that is often the case with Tarantino’s films but now it’s just maybe a bit too much. Especially when characters are bounty hunters and outlaws somewhere in the middle of nowhere in the wild, wild west (or I don’t know if Wyoming was part of wild west or not but anyway). I really don’t drawl. Especially when one of the speakers is Samuel L. Jackson. He yells so much. It makes me sad and frustrated. CoTHE HATEFUL EIGHTme on, Tarantino! Give him some challenge already. Same role all over again. Blah. But to be fair, he’s good. Again. Boring, obnoxious but good. And so are the others too. I especially liked Kurt Russell’s character, he looked like Santa Claus and I really haven’t appreciated his eyes before. They’re beautiful. And Tim Roth. I like Tim Roth and I really liked his character here but that’s kind of obvious because he seems to be the only one being at least a bit civilized. And Jennifer Jason Leigh will get her Oscar nomination. I don’t know why but she sure is disgusting here.

Tarantino’s writing is again bullets. Loads and loads of dialogue. But unfortunately it’s not very funny this time. I think I laughed in part four or so for the first time. Or maybe three but still, late into the film. But Oscar nod is again coming his way. I also think the film deserves Oscar for cinematography and editing but I doubt it’ll get it for the latter. But it should. It’s film. A real film. Lots of editing. And well done. And the best thing in the film; the music. Oh, Ennio Morricone, he sure does know what he is doing! And other songs used; superb!

THE HATEFUL EIGHT

The Hateful Eight picked up it’s tempo when closing and in the end, it was OK. So, if you like your Tarantino as it usually is: loud, talkative and bloody, it’s all here again. But it’s not funny or interesting enough until the very end to keep you (or this case: me) hooked. The last third is fine but that’s just not enough.

Rating: **½ (out of 5)

P.S. Stay tuned! From tomorrow on I’ll be updating my Oscar prediction until the 14th when the nominations are announced!

One thought on “The Hateful Eight Review

Leave a Reply

