The Oscars predictions 2016 #1

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

Here we go! My favourite time of the year. The Oscars time!

It’s four days until the announcement of the nominations and I’ll be looking into my predictions every day until 14th. Golden Globes will be aired tonight and we might get some indications who will be the winners but those doesn’t affect to the Oscar nominations as the ballots are already in and no one can change their vote anymore.

We have some indications from critics and guilds and obviously from nominations of Golden Globes and BAFTA awards but thankfully this year the race is quite wide open. There are a lot different winners so far and even more equally good or great films to be nominated. I can’t actually remember when the Oscar season had been this open the last time. Room for surprises.

I still have quite many categories where I keep shifting the contenders back and forth and that’s the reason why I start with the ones that I’ve 95% locked. I also list the ones that have been in my mind and can be dark horses or even quite potential nominees.

59beab0093a534b3b2684597100cdbecBEST ACTOR

  1. The Martian – Matt Damon
  2. Steve Jobs – Michael Fassbender
  3. The Revenant – Leonardo DiCaprio
  4. The Danish Girl – Eddie Redmayne
  5. Trumbo – Bryan Cranston
  6. Black Mass – Johnny Depp
  7. Youth – Michael Caine
  8. Son of Saul – Geza Röhrig

I still wonder a bit if Johnny Depp will make it but I doubt it. He might change the places with Cranston BUT Cranston plays a real life screenwriter from the Hollywood Golden Era. And they just love their own. Plus at least to me he was better and Trumbo in general is a better film than Black Mass. The four others I consider total locks and will be amazed if they are not nominated. And even though it should be DiCaprio’s year, there might be a change to Matt Damon to beat him. We’ll see.

4c1424b851fb52993584fd07f5a5214cBEST ACTRESS

  1. Carol – Cate Blanchett
  2. The Danish Girl – Alicia Vikander
  3. 45 Years – Charlotte Rampling
  4. Room – Brie Larson
  5. Brooklyn – Saoirse Ronan
  6. Max Max: Fury Road – Charlize Theron
  7. Joy – Jennifer Lawrence

I only yesterday changed Alicia Vikander to this category and took JLaw away. I might regret it later but I have a feeling that this is the way it goes this time. I also think there is a slight change for Charlize Theron if younger generation of actresses votes enough for her. I don’t know. I guess some other older generation actress like Maggie Smith or Lily Tomlin could take Rampling’s place but I doubt it. And when it comes to winner, I think it’s Larson’s to loose. But so far I’ve only seen Theron’s work and to me she over-acted, so I can’t really have a proper opinion here. Can’t they just give a nomination for Daisy Ridley? I love her and her character.

BEST SCREENPLAY (original)

  1. The Hateful Eight – Quentin Tarantino
  2. Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve & Josh Cooley
  3. Spotlight – Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer
  4. Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman & Coen brothers
  5. Ex Machina – Alex Garland
  6. Trainwreck – Amy Schumer
  7. Sicario – Taylor Sheridan

insideout1

Well, this one is 100% lock. I loved Trainwreck but I can’t see it getting nomination and I really hope that Ex Machina gets one in this category because it truly deserves it. And I wish Inside Out will win but I think Spotlight will. I hope not. I haven’t even seen it yet but I just love the idea of Inside Out, it’s truly imaginative and for that it should win.

themartian_posterBEST SCREENPLAY (adapted)

  1. Carol – Phyllis Nagy
  2. Room – Emma Donoghue
  3. The Martian – Drew Goddard
  4. Steve Jobs – Aaron Sorkin
  5. The Big Short – Charles Randolph & Adam McKay
  6. Brooklyn – Nick Hornby

I might change my mind with this after seeing Carol, Room and Brooklyn. I will watch them during the next three days but for now this is it. I wasn’t a huge fan of The Martian, it’s witty and fun but nothing spectacular but as big time Buffy fan, I’m also a big time Goddard fan, so I hope he wins. I think all of them have a chance.

Maybe one more category… Let’s see…

madmaxcinematographyBEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

  1. Mad Max Fury Road
  2. The Revenant
  3. Sicario
  4. Carol
  5. The Hateful Eight
  6. The Martian
  7. Bridge of Spies

My favourite category. Bridge of Spies got added about half a minute ago (I just saw it in the cinema, like half an hour ago). I could see it getting nomination even though it wasn’t my favourite kind of cinematography. I can’t wait to see The Revenant, Lubezki is just unbelievably good and already the trailer looks amazing! 360 degrees shots and natural light… I’m quite sure it’ll be my favourite of the year. But I also liked The Hateful Eight and obviously Mad Max too but it’s more about that rapid editing. And Sicario is Deakins, a lot of hard stuff, shots in actual darkness. It’s brutal to look at as it should be consider the subject matter. And Carol looks beautiful though I haven’t seen it yet. But wouldn’t it be cool to “Chivo” to win three in a row?!

That’s all for today. Any thoughts? Do you disagree/agree? Other choices? I’ll be back tomorrow with another categories.

Leave a Reply

