The Oscar Prediction 2016 #2

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.The second part. Let’s take a look into some other categories where I’ve almost made up my mind.

BEST EDITING

  1. Mad Max Fury Road
  2. The Revenant
  3. The Martian
  4. Spotlight
  5. The Big Short
  6. Steve Jobs ????
  7. Sicario

The question marks there tell me and to you now as well that I’m not very comfortable putting said film under the line. It should be above. It has great editing. But I believe that Spotlight, Mad Max and The Revenant will have their nominations and other indicators are saying that the editing in The Big Short is superb. So that leaves The Martian which I actually think has all the chances to win the Best Picture gong. And thus it should be nominated in editing category. History has told us that if the film is not nominated in this category, it will not win the Best Picture. Then again, the last year’s big winner, Birdman, wasn’t nominated in this category… Anyway, I might change my mind here. And hopefully Mad Max will win, that is some insane editing.

BEST SONG

  1. Spectre – Writings on the Wall
  2. The Hunting Ground – Til It Happens To You
  3. Youth – Simple Song #3
  4. Fifty Shades of Grey – Love Me Like You Do
  5. Furious 7 – See You Again
  6. Pitch Perfect 2 – Flashlight
  7. Shaun the Sheep Movie – Feels Like Summer
  8. Concussion – So Long

This category is basically “all the same”. It’s impossible to get it right because there can be anything between 2 to 5 nominees and they are chosen from something like over 70 songs or so. Personally I like that Bond song but there are a lot of people who don’t. Lady Gaga and Dianne Warren (if you don’t know her, you should google her, she’s a big deal) co-wrote Til It Happens to You, should be shoo-in nomination. And possible winner. I prefer See You Again, I still like the song plus it’s dedicated to Paul Walker. And when it comes to Fifty Shades of Grey, that’s Ellie Goulding. She’s a big deal. The song is also better than the ones under the line. (P.S. If you haven’t yet, you should watch that video, it has a message that should be taken seriously.)

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. Jurassic World
  3. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  4. The Martian
  5. The Revenant ???
  6. The Walk
  7. Ex Machina
  8. Ant-Man

Question marks again. I really don’t know which ones to choose. With visual effects it’s also political, kind of. According to Variety, Marvel is not that liked in the field and there are a lot of those traditional effect guys who appreciate other stuff than just plain CGI and also films that have basics in real life like The Revenant. Did you know they used motion capture with raptors in Jurassic World? Imagine your CV: “raptor in Jurassic World”, how cool. 😀 Star Wars will win? Or? I think so. (I really want to put Ant-Man there but if they don’t like Marvel…) Video here contains major SPOILERS!

 

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE

  1. sonofsaulSon of Saul (Hungary)
  2. Mustang (France)
  3. Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia)
  4. Labyrinth of Lies (Germany)
  5. The Fencer (Finland)
  6. Viva (Ireland)
  7. The Brand New Testament (Belgium)
  8. A War (Denmark)
  9. Theeb (Jordan)

The foreign language category is like the Best Song, you never know what is going to happen. Good thing is that they have limited the semifinalist to nine. I believe the first three there are locks or at least the first two. And I chose Finland because I’m from there. I might change it later. All four bubbling under are totally worthy. Son of Saul should win.

BEST DOCUMENTARY

  1. amyposterAmy
  2. Cartel Land
  3. The Look of Silence
  4. Best of Enemies
  5. Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
  6. The Hunting Ground
  7. Listen to Me Marlon
  8. Where to Invade Next

I really want to put The Hunting Ground there but to be honest, it’s not very good journalism. It doesn’t give any kind of chance to the opposite players. I liked it but at the same evening I watched Going Clear and it was very easy to see the difference there where they actively tried to get some comments from active scientologists. Btw, you should watch that documentary, it’s terrifying. Though not that terrifying as Cartel Land is. That is deep shit. But I hope Amy wins. It’s a very, very sad but beautiful and respectful documentary of a very talented person. I still need to see The Look of Silence and Best of Enemies though. I’m sure both will be excellent.

That’s it for today. I’ll be back tomorrow again! Any thoughts?

5 thoughts on “The Oscar Prediction 2016 #2

      • Disagreement I have no problem with. Film discussion should involve different points of view. I just don’t appreciate it when pple come in and leave dissenting comments on my page without saying anything to me. That makes me feel like I’m being trampled. But it’s not a problem, I’m shutting off comments so it will no longer be an issue. Sorry if I came back at you way too harshly

Leave a Reply

