The Oscar Predictions 2016 #3

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.OK, I skipped yesterday with my predictions, so it’s two posts today. Here’s the first one.

Let’s quickly go through short categories because unfortunately I haven’t seen any of them. I’ve watched the trailers for the most of them and I’ve read about them and here are my uneducated predictions:

Sanjay's_Super_Team_posterBEST ANIMATED SHORT

  1. World of Tomorrow
  2. Sanjay’s Super Team
  3. Bear Story
  4. Carface
  5. Prologue
  6. If I Was God

 Here I think Sanjay has the upper hand. It’s Pixar and is playing before The Good Dinosaur. 

BEST SHORT DOCUMENTARY

  1. Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah
  2. Last Day of Freedom
  3. Minerita
  4. Chau Beyond the Lines
  5. A Girl in the River
  6. Body Team 12
  7. 50 Feet from Syria

These are total guesses. Some of them have won more awards and are mentioned more times in the world wide web. Personally I really, really like Chau’s story.

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT

  1. Ave Maria
  2. Bis Gleich
  3. Shok
  4. Stutterer
  5. Winter Light
  6. Contrapelo
  7. Day One

Bis Gleich is my personal favourite but Shok has cleaned the plates at festivals and Stutterer and Winter Light have professional actors in them plus have been doing well at the festivals too.

joyBEST ANIMATED FEATURE

  1. Inside Out
  2. The Prophet
  3. Anomalisa
  4. The Good Dinosaur
  5. The Peanuts Movie
  6. Shaun the Sheep Movie
  7. When Marnie Was There

I want to nominate six. Can I? I really can’t decide between The Prophet and Shaun the Sheep. The Academy has had the habit of nominating one “outsider”, in this case The Prophet (or Marnie). I think Shaun is probably more deserving but I don’t know. I think that Inside Out will be an eventual winner and Anomalisa a lock for a nomination but any of the other three could lose their place for Shaun or even Marnie.

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

  1. Cinderella
  2. Carol
  3. Brooklyn
  4. Mad Max: Fury Road
  5. The Danish Girl
  6. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  7. Crimson Peak

cinderella_costumes

I have tiny doubts about this category. Crimson Peak had some nice costumes, especially the ones on ladies. And I have a doubt that Brooklyn and Carol are so close to each other that they’re too similar. And there’s also The Danish Girl but I think it’s in. And Carol, as it’s Sandy Powell’s who’s been already awarded three times and will get at least one nomination (Cinderella) this year. I hope she’ll win for that as the costumes in that are amazing! Like seriously amazing!

BEST MAKEUP

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. Holmes
  3. The Revenant
  4. The 100-Year-Old Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared
  5. Black Mass

I hate this category. I never know who is going to win or be nominated. Mad Max, I think, will win. I hope. I don’t know. I think Johnny Depp’s make up in Black Mass was great but I’m not a professional in the field, so what do I know? And after watching this featurette of Mr. Holmes’ make-up work, I tend to believe it’ll be nominated.

BEST SOUND EDITING

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. The Martian
  3. The Hateful Eight
  4. The Revenant
  5. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  6. Sicario
  7. Jurassic World
  8. Bridge of Spies
  9. Inside Out
  10. Spectre

BEST SOUND MIXING

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. The Martian
  3. Bridge of Spies
  4. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  5. The Revenant
  6. Straight Outta Compton II
  7. The Big Short
  8. The Hateful Eight
  9. Sicario

I’m not a fan of these categories. Mainly because I don’t really understand a lot about sound work. It is really interesting to read and watch videos about it though and I’d like to learn more. A few years ago IMDb ran this series before the Oscars where they went through all the categories and explained what they’re about. It was cool. But anyway, to the categories; Max should be a lock in both of the categories, so should Star Wars. I’m guessing that for The Revenant and The Martian as well and when watching Bridge of Spies, I actually paid a lot attention to the sounds and I think it’s deserving at least in mixing. And the sounds in The Hateful Eight are noticeable, though I don’t know if that’s a good thing. Any of the bubbling under could be in the mix though.

Later tonight I’ll do my final predictions for the best score, production design, both of the supporting acting categories, the best director and obviously the best picture.

Leave a Reply

