Inside Out Review

As I’m finally back I should be back as well, huh? I haven’t done a review since Hobbit 3 in January. I’ll start with one that will most probably win the BEST ANIMATED FEATURE Oscar next February. It has made so much money according to BoxOfficeMojo (#73) and it’s already #53 in IMDb’s list of Top-250 and everybody seems to love it! Ladies and gentlemen;

INSIDE OUTinsideoutposter  (2015)

directed by Pete Docter & Ronaldo Del Carmen

written by Pete Docter, Ronaldo Del Carmen, Meg LeFauve & Josh Cooley

starring (as voices) Amy Poehler, Phyllis Smith, Richard Kind, Bill Hader, Lewis Black, Mindy Kaling & Kaitlyn Dias

Synopsis taken from IMDb: “After young Riley is uprooted from her Midwest life and moved to San Francisco, her emotions – Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness – conflict on how best to navigate a new city, house, and school.”

First of all I have to say I didn’t love it as much as everyone else seems to love it. I liked a lot, especially story wise but I’ve seen much better animated films before. Maybe it’s because Pixar has not made THAT good films in couple of years (well, since Toy Story 3, I think) that now when they (finally) did, it seems a very big deal?! Maybe. I don’t know. But let’s go it through.

Good things. Joy. And Sadness. And well, all the other characters too. Amy Poehler is one of my favourite comediennes and she’s perfect as Joy as is the whole character in general. She’s a bit annoying but mostly you can’t help loving her. Without joy life would be horrible. Just horrible. But as told in the story, you do need other emotions too or it just might be a bit too much to handle. And this is where lies the best of Inside Out. The story is so well written. Even it might be a tiniest bit childish, it does remind us all how to deal with it. Or at least how we should do it. I think all people with children on the verge of their puberty should go and see this. With their children. It might help. I hope Pete Docter and go will get their nominations in screenplay category in January, they deserve it.

insideout1

I also enjoyed the execution of the film. It looks and feels fluffy and that’s kind of it is supposed to look like when you are in someones’ mind who’s still innocent. And I also enjoyed the way how they mixed with drawing techniques. And I loved the use of colours, it looked beautiful.

As those of you, who know me personally or have read this blog long enough, know I’m big cry-baby. I cry a lot when watching films or series or reading or just seeing a lonely grandpa on the street. I cry. Of course I cried while watching Inside Out but not much, really. Not much. And that is a surprise and to me, negative one. I cried a lot while watching the short film or music video or how ever you want to call it that was on before the actual film. Serious cry-alert here then! (sorry, couldn’t find one without lyrics)

Anyway, not crying a lot when watching an animated film must mean it is not that touching as it should be. To me at least. And another minus was that I didn’t laugh as much as I hoped for. It did feel a bit too much childish in a way that things were not as funny as they could’ve been. But I do believe this will become to be one of those animated films that kids around the globe will love. And adults are happy to watch together with them. It’s still a great story with great characters and you feel good after seeing it.

joy

Rating: **** (out of 5)

One thought on “Inside Out Review

Leave a Reply

