Films of the Week Vol. 10

themillersWe’re the Millers (2013)

Directed by Rawson Marshall Thurber
Written by Bob Fisher, Steve Faber, Sean Anders & John Morris
Starring Jason Sudeikis, Jennifer Aniston, Emma Roberts & Will Poulter

I’m not usually a big fan of these kinds of “guy comedies” where the fun is that someone is hurt to their testicles or where at least one of the women is taking her clothes of at some point. But I have to admit, We’re the Millers was not half bad. It did make me laugh, a couple of times out loud, so that’s a good thing. Then again, I did have this hangover while watching, it might have helped. It kind of lowers your standards, or what you think?

I like Jason Sudeikis quite a lot. He has done some decent comedies earlier too, like What Happens in Vegas, Going the Distance and especially Horrible Bosses (Aniston’s there too!) that was one of the biggest comedy surprises of the recent years. It’s actually very good. I’m glad Sudeikis is able to pull this one of without the help of bigger stars. Well, Aniston is a bigger star but she’s no way near as funny as Sudeikis is. And I didn’t really like her character in this film that much. Okeish supporting role still, I guess. Emma Roberts is bit of a questions mark to me; she keeps getting quite a high profile roles but I don’t know why? She’s never been that good in anything (please, prove me wrong if you can!). Will Poulter is funny in this one; hopefully he’ll have a bright future ahead.nakedjenniferaniston

I can’t really write about the technical aspects of the film, so let’s just say that the story works (it’s over the top and a little bit too sweet in the end) and jokes are not tasteless which is often the case when it comes to me and “guy comedies”. Nice piece of light entertainment and very suitable for hangover day. I recommend.

Stars ***½ (out of 5)

 

dawnoftheplanetoftheapesDawn of the Planet of the Apes (2014)

Directed by Matt Reeves
Written by Mark Bomback, Rick Jaffa & Amanda Silver
Starring Andy Serkis, Jason Clarke, Keri Russell, Kodi Smit-McPhee & Toby Kebbell

I was taken by total surprise two years ago when the first “new” Apes film premiered. I didn’t expect anything and it was fantastic. I really liked the message, the CGI and obviously Andy Serkis, who’s the master of motion capture acting and should be awarded for that! Again and again. Because without him both of these Apes movies would be nothing (and that goes for the last two instalments of Lord of the Rings too).

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is better than the first part of the saga. It might be the best Apes film ever done. It has interesting characters that are not purely black or white. The apes themselves have souls and there is this deepness in the story. The message is loud and clear. Hopefully to everyone because it is the most important message ever and it is kind of sad that it takes a war between human and the most closely related species to human to make it clear. And I’m still not sure if everyone gets it. Which is sad.andyserkiscaesareyes

Technical matters in the film work wonderfully. I can’t point out anything that bothered me. And the scale is again a big one. So you should see it in cinema. The story is relevant and the dialogue good, at least in the most parts. The underlining of the message bothered me a bit but like I wrote, it is important to get it clear to the dumbest of us. The spacing at some points is a bit slow but the end gives you the chills and tears (in my case at least), so it makes it up. The whole cast does well but obviously Andy Serkis is the master of them all. He is tremendously good. You really feel if for Caesar.

Stars **** (out of 5)

 

the-conjuring-posterThe Conjuring (2013)

Directed by James Wan
Written by Chad & Carey Hayes
Starring Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Lily Taylor & Ron Livingston

I have gained the courage to watch The Conjuring after hearing that it is actually scary. And you know what; it actually is. And that’s a great thing because the most of the horror films are crap. And there are not that many spooks in this one that usually are the scariest thing but in general it’s more about the whole vibe of the film, it works naturally.

The story itself is very much old school, the haunted house with a gloomy history. In this case it’s even a bit stupid, the whole curse thing behind the haunted house but for some reason, it still works. Maybe it’s the cast, maybe the dialogue, the setting, the cinematography or the editing. Or all of them together are perhaps the right answer. For some reason the whole adult cast is superb, they make the most out of their roles. And the kids are good too, no complaints in that category. I don’t really know what else to say; this was a good horror film that scared me that much that I needed to watch some silly Supernatural episodes (The French Mistake, anyone?) to get it out of my head before going to bed. I haven’t had any nightmares related to The Conjuring but they might still come. Again; I recommend.

Stars **** (out of 5)

IMG_6285.dng

P.S. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is basically better than The Conjuring but it’s not as good as X-Men was, so can’t help it, the starring must go like this.

P.P.S I’m  watching True Detective atm. Stay tuned for review of that one! So far; SO good!

6 thoughts on “Films of the Week Vol. 10

Leave a Reply

